Home > Internet, Security, Tips & Tricks, Windows > Configure Putty & Firefox To Use SSH SOCKS Proxy Tunnel

Configure Putty & Firefox To Use SSH SOCKS Proxy Tunnel

On the previous posts I’ve talked about using SSH SOCKS Proxy Tunneling. But that was possible when you have a Linux or Unix OS running on your machine. What about the Windows lovers :p. No worries you’re on Windows!!! You still can do this. Things you need for this are:

1. PuTTY SSH Client.
2. Firefox Web Browser.
3. SSH access to a unix/linux server.

Now, first run PuTTY. You should be on the “PuTTY Configuration” window. On the “Host Name (or IP address)” field, type the hostname or IP address of your remote server. And select “Connection type” as “SSH“. The port should get automatically selected to 22.

putty-remote-server-hostname1

Then, in the left-hand menu, click on “SSH“. In “Protocol options“, tick “enable compression” and set your preferred SSH version to “2“.

putty-ssh-connection-option

Now expand the “SSH” menu and select the “Tunnels” sub-menu.

putty-tunnels-menu

Now under the “Tunnels” menu (Options controlling SSH port forwarding), in the “Source port” field, type in a source port. Here I am using 4567. But you can use anything. Then select “Dynamic” as “Destination” and click the “Add” button.

putty-port-forwarding

After clicking the “Add” button the newly added forwarded port should get listed under “Forwarded ports” list.

putty-ssh-tunnel-port-forwarding

Now, go back to the “Session” tab at the top of the menu, give the new connection a name (here i used My SSH Proxy) and click on the “Save” button.

putty-my-ssh-proxy

Congrats! we are done with the PuTTY configuration.

Now do the rest as same like previous posts. You’re done on using SOCKS Proxy Tunneling in Windows. :-)

  1. tae
    September 18, 2011 at 5:31 am

    thanks

  2. September 18, 2011 at 5:32 am

    it worked :)

  3. Venki
    May 12, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks a ton for this post. I was struggling for 3 hours before I chanced upon your post. My usecase was to connect through an SSH tunnel to my VPS so I could access Netflix. Works perfectly now. I was missing the encryption & the Dynamic part.

  4. December 23, 2012 at 5:44 am

    When I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment. Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Thank you!

  5. February 23, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    You need to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the net.
    I am going to recommend this web site!

  6. March 12, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Hello! I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent information you have got right here on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.

  1. January 23, 2012 at 4:37 pm
  2. January 23, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

